My coming of age story

Standard

I wrote this for the Girl Survival kit but decided the post was to long, so I should just link it if anyone wants to read it.

I started growing pubic hair in the 5th grade and when I first seen it, I was so afraid. I had never seen another woman naked before and my mother never gave me the talk about it, so I thought something was really wrong with me. A few months later, the school had sex education so I learned what was “wrong” with me then.  I learned what puberty and about periods and they gave us tampons and panty liners to bring home with us. I left mine in my locker at school because I knew my mother would be mad with me for having those things. I have no idea why she was like that but she was. About a year later, in the 6th grade, I stayed home from school because I was having terrible cramps; I didn’t know what that was then so I just told my mom that my stomach really hurt. Later in the day, I had started my period. I kind of knew what a period was but really had no idea. When I saw the blood in my panties, I panicked and thought I somehow pooped my pants and something was wrong with me.(Again) I changed panties and threw away the dirty ones because I didn’t want to get into trouble. My mom found them and asked me if I was bleeding, I told her yes and she told me to use pads until I stopped. She never said anything else about it or explained that it was normal. My mom was a single mom to four children, myself and 3 boys. She never had the sex talk, explained puberty or anything else to us. She made me feel very ashamed of what I was going through and my changing body. She would even make comments on my body. I became so insecure I wore bras that was way too tight in hopes of making my breast smaller, already an A cup, but I didn’t want them to grow anymore; I wanted to stay one of the boys. I realize now that there was something wrong with my mother and that she should of never of made me ashamed of myself.

 

Please have a talk with your child and to make it easier for you and her both, make her a Survival Kit. You can put whatever you want into yours but I will also add what I would of loved to had and I will also include some print outs to add to the bag to make for easier discussion.

 

Click to go to the Girl Survival Kit to becoming a young woman.

Leave a Reply

